Saturday, 12 September 2009

Old Sugar Warehouse Sheds at the James Watt Dock, Greenock

'Open Doors' day in Greenock afforded the opportunity to view this fine building.

A-listed building built between 1882 and 1886 - designed by Walter Kinipple, the Sugar Warehouse was constructed in four red-brick sections with arches and pilasters in yellow brick.

The Old Sugar Warehouse undergoes essential repair work

This iconic building is being made wind and watertight at a cost of approx 3.7M

A view of the roof

The cast iron columns are  shown in this image

More images are available at - - and are also better resolution.

No comments: